Polka Dot Glass

We’ll call this “repurposing new materials”…a little different than working with reclaimed wood.

img_4970

I bought the polka dot glass shelf from the as-is department at Ikea and the fir flooring boards from O.L. Willard, a local hardware store. Most places will sell scraps from broken-up flooring bundles, but at Willard’s I get the added benefit of being allowed to search through their stock myself.

img_4979

The legs are unfinished cedar banister rails leftover from one of my landlord’s projects. Though you can’t see it in this picture, I used pine 1x3s again to frame the legs.

img_5073

I stained it with Minwax “red mahogany,” and varnished it with Minwax wipe-on poly. I think red mahogony and I are on the outs though…this is a little bit bright.

img_5078

Nevertheless, Lulu approves

img_5084

See how it fits perfectly over the radiator? Ah, the joy of making your own furniture.

img_5076

I should mention that I made the headboard from Ana White’s plan for a “reclaimed-wood look headboard” using all pine boards.

2 thoughts on “Polka Dot Glass

  1. Pingback: The Willimantic Coffetable | Fair-weather Furniture

  2. Pingback: Flooring Frames | Fair-weather Furniture

Leave a Reply

